More amp hum noise

THE NEW #1. Series One Amplifiers.
JL

Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:18 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to this subject so I'm sorry if this a basic think to be discussed here...

I have a Series 1 45 combo for about 2 years now, and since I was invited to play by some guys in a club nearby my nightmares begun. At home the amp sounds absolutely amazing, but down at the club, as soon as I flip down the standby switch theres a huge amount of hum noise on every channel!

I imagine that it must have something to do with all the lighting sets, the active speakers they have running there and maybe even the freezer behind the bar has a part on it too...

I talked with this guy by the store where I bought my amp and he said I had to buy some kind of power supply rectifier... the basic model starting on 300 euros... :shock:

I've seen someone talk about a Ebtech Hum X device you plug on your wall outlet... seems to good (and cheap) to be true...

What can you more experienced guys out there tell me that will help me? Many thx in advance.

Sonofarich

Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:40 pm

The stuff from Ebtech (Hum Eliminator & Hum X) work pretty good , if the hum is due to a ground loop issue. Lights and other electrical devices plugged into a dirty power supply can definitely ruin your day, especially if you are using long cable runs and/or not using shielded cables (they act like antennas). Before spending the $$ on a power conditioner, you may want to try the Ebtech stuff. If it doesn't work, just return them and get your $$ back.

JL

Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:28 am

I found a electronics forum where some expert technicians find the use of the Ebtech risky because apparently it's almost the same as disconnecting the ground wire...

I read somewhere that there are people use a ordinary power supply (APC for example) to run their amps... will this work or does it involve any risks?

ronnie robinson

Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:26 pm