HT CLUB 40 LIMITED EDITION - USING A DISTORTION PEDAL

Discussion - HT Venue amplifiers. Inspiration from Studio to Stage.
rokgod1

Sun Jul 31, 2016 4:27 pm

I primarily use the amp's distortion, but for some sonic flexibility, I just added a Boss Blues Driver (BD-2) to my pedalboard. Admittedly, I'm new to the whole pedalboard arena, even though I've been playing for years. Up until now, I always had amps with built in FX.

Half of my pedals (chorus/delay/tremolo) route through the effects loop and sound amazing. However, my issue is with regard to running the other half of my pedals into the guitar input of the amp: Morley Mini Wah/Volume into TC Electronic Polytone 2 tuner into the Blues Driver then out to the guitar input.

I use the Blues Driver when I'm running the clean channel. When I turn on the pedal, the distortion sounds like it's being limited/compressed. Ive run this setup directly into my DAW recording software and it doesn't sound like what I just described. So I'm thinking there might be an issue with how the the amp is handling the Blues Driver.

So two questions come up:
In my current configuration, am I taxing the preamp with the distortion pedal, causing the squashed sound?
Assuming it's ok to do so, should I be routing the Blues Driver through the effects loop instead?

I'm being conservative and asking up front before I do something that may/may not srew up my coveted amp. :-)

thephantum

Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:25 pm

Most likely, the signal is getting slammed into the front end causing it to compress, but that is not going to hurt anything. First thing I would try is lowering the levels on all the pedals and seeing if it sounds different.