Using effects with Blackstar HT1R

Discussion - HT-1 amplifiers
MorningStar

Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:00 pm

Hello to all Blackstar family members.

I'm an amateur guitarist from Iran. I recently purchased a Blackstar HT-1R Combo and I couldn't be happier with it.

The only thing that is baffling me is that it doesn't have an effects loop. So basically does that mean that I can't use delay pedals with this amp? or any other sort of effects gear?

Thanks in advance for helping a noob here ;)

thephantum

Sun Jun 19, 2016 12:13 am

You can use pedals in front of the amp, they will just sound different than they would in an effects loop. What that difference is will depend on the specific pedal.

MorningStar

Sun Jun 19, 2016 12:46 am

thephantum wrote:You can use pedals in front of the amp, they will just sound different than they would in an effects loop. What that difference is will depend on the specific pedal.
Thank you for your reply. All these differences, do they compromise the tone or is it a matter of preference?

Adam-T

Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:49 am

Pedals generally work and sound better in front of the amp - even multi FX like the VOX Stompbox and Line-6 Pod, because this is how they were designed to be used with the levels and impedances of guitar in and guitar amp`s guitar input out taken into consideration ...... it`s Rack gear FX such as Lexicon reverbs and complex rack multi FX stuff which are optimized for effects loop processing which is usually line level (Mixing desk / Hifi standard more than guitar levels)

thephantum

Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:05 pm

It's all a matter of personal preference. A delay is a really good example: So let's assume a guitar, amp and delay pedal. In both examples, let's say you are using a medium length delay with a long decay, so that it repeats a number of times. Let's also assume that the amp is in OD.