Blackstar HT5-RC Tubes?

Discussion - HT-5 amplifiers.
csimic

Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:43 pm

Hi I have a Blackstar HT5-RC which is a nice amplifier but I cannot get many different sounds out of it, I cannot get a real clean sound it always has gain in it and when I move the Bass, mid and Treble knobs nothing seems to change much. I spoke to another fellow who had the same problem and he was told to take it to a Blackstar repair agent and have the tubes upgraded and the bias would have to be reset.
Is it true to say that Blackstar only install average tubes in the HT5-RC and that it would be beneficial for me to get some upmarket tubes installed by a technician?

I am a newbie only been playing 12 months - 55 years old - so cut me some slack if I have asked a stupid question.

Also what brand and effect pedals do you think I should buy and use? I mainly play warm clean blues tones. I must admit at this stage I am not real impressed with the HT5-RC's performance but I am happy to pay for some better tubes if it will make a lot of difference.

I play Strats, PRS SE 245, Telecasters, Les Pauls, Gibson SG limited edition and I have just bought a Fender Mustang being vintage it is kind of nice.

Please give me some advice about the amp I always use Mogami Gold Pro leads, I don't know what is going on there.
Cheers, Mick

thephantum

Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:32 pm